SELECTING THE INTERIOR FINISHES

I’ll cover the general design in the next posting – this posting is about the “stuff” that is the most fun for me. Generally my professional work surrounds large commercial buildings so I get so excited about all the pretty details when I have a residential project to play with. Our MCM furnishings are pretty funky with loads of bright teal, turquoise, and generous pops of orange. I fell in love with that crazy turquoise color when we expanded our first home in SoCal: Apartment Therapy – Mid Century Home

Many of our original vintage pieces have brass details that I love to compliment with other brushed brass elements (we are so lucky that they are abundant right now since brass has had a bit of a faddish comeback). I introduced some brass elements in the light fixture selection of our last house here: Austin Home Magazine – Past Made Perfect

Rather than doing modern slab cabinets in the kitchen as we have done in the past (we are refacing the existing Kraftmaid cabinets that are in otherwise perfect condition) we decided to go with a “modern shaker” route. I know, sounds like a contradiction but I know they will be great and if we don’t stay in this home forever and ever they will most likely make someone else very happy. Note: we do plan to live here for a LONG time! I toyed with doing a contrasting island color but don’t want to follow every kitchen trend that I’m loving right now but might not like in a year or two. Attached is my design inspiration board mostly peppered with images that I found on Pinterest along with images directly from the websites I purchased the light fixtures from. Oh, and my new Velux skylights are going to be fabulous for bringing in much needed light into the fairly dark kitchen/dining area.

Author: modsweetkristen

Obsessive/Compulsive architect, interior designer, builder, maker, and runner with a sweet husband and three rambunctious rescue dogs

Leave a Reply

