PROGRESS UPDATE – WEEK 1 DEMOLITION

I do love me some demo! As long as I don’t have to do it myself these days (we have majorly proven that we can do all forms of construction ourselves but have wisely graduated to hiring the pros). Below are photos of the kitchen without the island – wow it sure opens up the space! And the two solar vented 2×4 Velux skylights are going to be sweet above a nice rectangular island with my glass and brass pendant globes. Our current house has 9 and 10 foot ceilings and we wanted to raise the ceiling in this new home but the framing really (quite literally) won’t support that  so we have to be creative with skylight placement to make it feel more open and less dark. Oh, and that wall that has new drywall? Yeah, the previous remodeler didn’t care that the framing was true. It was a furred out existing block wall that was the back wall of the original house. The lazy person who framed it made it look like it was leaning – it was off by 2.5″ at the top and looked like a serious defect in the structure. I’m so glad we took a chance… I was holding my breath as we pulled off the old drywall to see what potentially scary situation was waiting for me. Whew! So glad it was all OK and my contractor made the cosmetic fixes to look perfect!

Author: modsweetkristen

Obsessive/Compulsive architect, interior designer, builder, maker, and runner with a sweet husband and three rambunctious rescue dogs

Leave a Reply

